Biometrics is an important area of interest to the Pattern Recognition and Computer Vision research communities. This is clearly evident by the large number of conferences and events that are being organized and sponsored by IAPR and/or by its Technical Committee 4 on Biometrics (TC4). Furthermore, there has been a rapid growth in the number of organizations worldwide that are deploying biometric technologies in diverse application scenarios. For this reason, IAPR TC4 has been very active in promoting biometrics at various scientific, technological, educational and policy events.

The 2012 edition of the TC4 flagship event, International Conference on Biometrics (ICB), held in New Delhi, India, facilitated the establishment of the “IAPR Senior Biometrics Investigator Award” (SBIA). The objectives and criteria of this award are similar to the prestigious IAPR KS Fu award, except that it will be given to outstanding scientists in the biometrics field. The Award will be presented once every two years. The first edition of this award was presented at the 2014 International Joint Conference on Biometrics (IJCB) in Clearwater Beach, Florida, USA.

IAPR TC4 is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the third edition of the “IAPR Senior Biometrics Investigator Award” (SBIA). The recipient of the award will be selected from a pool of nominees, subject to the approval by the President of IAPR. The Prize Committee will be appointed by the TC4, and will consist of at least three active members of TC4. One of the committee members will be the most recent recipient of the award.

Selection criteria and procedure

The recipient of the SBIA is expected to be an outstanding scholar and researcher in biometrics, who has made a sustained technical contribution of far-reaching significance and impact on the field. Demonstrable leadership in the professional activities promoted by IAPR and its member organizations will be a secondary criterion used in judging the merit of each nomination. The prize consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate. The recipient of the award will be expected to give a plenary talk at the 2024 International Joint Conference on Biometrics (IJCB) that will be held in Buffalo, USA in September 2024.

Nomination procedure

The nomination must be made by a member of a national member society of IAPR and endorsed by at least four members, representing at least two IAPR member societies different from that of the nominator. Members of the Prize Committee are ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers. Completed nomination and endorsement forms must reach the Chair of the Prize Committee, Prof. Arun Ross <>, no later than 31 July 2024.

Past recipients of award

  • 2018: Professor John Daugman, University of Cambridge, UK
  • 2016: Professor Anil K. Jain, Michigan State University, USA